Library History Holdings at the University of Illinois Archives

One reason for the ALA’s decision to house the ALA Archives at the University of Illinois forty years ago was because of the university library and archives’ strong existing holdings in library science history. In combination, the University of Illinois Archives and the ALA Archives house a wealth of American librarianship historical materials in Champaign-Urbana. The following record series are part of the University Archives’ collection that hold records of interest to researchers in library history. For access to published materials in the history of library science held in the library’s collection please consult the librarians at the Library Science Library.

The Library School study room, 1926

The Library School study room, 1926

The University of Illinois Library system

The University of Illinois library is currently the 3rd largest academic library in the United States and  has been making detailed records on its activities and functions since the late 19th century. The records of the University Library start with number 35.

Early records of the library include:

Records documenting the transition to a digital catalog in the 1970s are also of particular interest:

The Graduate School of Library and Information Science

Rose B. Phelps advising library student Norma Miller Ponisett.

Rose B. Phelps advising library student Norma Miller Ponisett.

The Graduate School of Library and Information Science also has records dating from the birth of the libraries movement at the end of the 19th century, and provide documentary evidence in the evolution of library science education in the United States. The records of GSLIS start with number 18.

Records documenting the early history of the school include:

Papers of UIUC Librarians

Hugh C. Atkinson, University of Illinois Librarian (1976-1986)

Hugh C. Atkinson, University of Illinois Librarian (1976-1986)

Many University librarians and library science professors have deposited their papers at UIUC. Here is a complete listing of all librarians’ papers in the archives:

Illinois Library Association

University Archives holds the early records of the Illinois Library Association:

Library Student Life and Culture

Two library students stand just outside of the Library School Library, holding stacks of books.

Two library students stand just outside of the Library School Library.

There are records of campus student organizations related to library science:

Special Materials

 

Research guide by Denise Rayman, published 2014.

Staff Resources | Log in