The American Society for Cybernetics
The American Society for Cybernetics (ASC) was founded in 1964 to facilitate the work of those with an interest in the field of cybernetics. The Society holds a conference approximately each year, conducts seminars on the fundamentals of cybernetics, maintains a listserve on cybernetics, and has published a series of books.
The American Society for Cybernetics (ASC) is dedicated to the advancement of the field of cybernetics. The objective is to develop a metadisciplinary language with which we may better understand and modify our world. This is accomplished through meetings, discussions and conferences.
The history of the ASC began in Washington, D.C. in the late 1950's when a group of individuals who had been been meeting monthly to discuss developments in the field of cybernetics, formed an unchartered social organization called the Washington Cybernetics Society. These meetings led to the founding of a national professional organization which was incorporated on July 31, 1964, as the American Society for Cybernetics. The goal of this new organization was to support the development of the discipline of cybernetics, to anticipate the impact of cybernetics, and to provide information on cybernetics.
(This information was taken from the ASC website. For more information on the activities of ASC, please visit their website .)
ASC Archives at UIUC
The American Society for Cybernetics deposited its records at the University Archives of the University of Illinois in 1999. Material in the collection currently includes issues of ASC's scholarly journals and newsletters, as well as articles and reports by leaders in the field of cybernetics as well as Ross Ashby Papers. Summary descriptions and complete listing of box and folder listings of ASC records and publications can be found by following these links:
American Society for Cybernetics Publications (RS 11/6/100)
William Ross Ashby Papers (RS 11/6/120
Non-ASC Cybernetics Publications (RS 11/6/199)
Other Cybernetics Collections at the UIUC Archives
The University Archives of the University of Illinois also include publications, official records, and personal papers related to cybernetics. These include the Biological Computer Laboratory Publications. The University Archives also includes the papers of Heinz von Foerster, and John A. Easley, as well as the records of the Committee on Culture and Cognition. The complete holdings of University of Illinois Archives can be searched through the following website: http://archives.library.illinois.edu/archon/index.php