Disability Research Resources
Disability-related resources, like all holdings at the University Archives, are described online using control cards. The majority of these control cards are linked to finding aids that offer a detailed description of the record series. Finding aids function like a table of contents for each record series, and are a good starting point for researching disability-related resources.
The archival records are also broken down into groups. The Digital Collections and Holdings sections is a good starting place to learn more about the type of items at the University Archives.
If you plan to visit the Archives, please contact staff in advance so we can provide you with the best reference services during your visit. An Archives Assistant can also check the records to ensure we possess the necessary documents for your on-site research.
The University of Illinois Archives is located in Room 19 (Basement) of the Main Library Building at 1408 W. Gregory drive in Champaign. Please visit the About the Archives page on the main Archives web-site for more information about location and hours.
Some disability-related materials are located at the Archives Research Center in the Horticulture Field Lab building. If your research requires a visit to the Archives Research Center located at 1707 S. Orchard St. in Urbana, please visit Room 105 to check-in.
The Main Library location and the Archives Research Center have photocopiers, but no change or copy card machines. The rate for copies is $0.15 per page in cash, or $0.09 per page using a copy card (Copy card machine locations).
The University Archives provides assistance to researchers who cannot physically visit the Archives. You are welcome to contact Archives staff with any research questions. If you locate information via an online finding aid, please note the name of the series or the record series number, as well as the box number and folder name of interest when you contact us.
If you require photocopies, please consult the University Archives Photocopy Policy about our services, photograph use and reproduction guidelines, cost, and payment.
Please also consult the University Archives User Regulations Policy for more information about the usage, reproduction, publication, and bibliographic citation of these materials.
If you wish to receive copies of digital or analog images, please fill out the Photo/AV Conditions of Use Form.
